College Night

It's almost January.. almost time to see streams of Purple and Gold all over campus.. it's the most wonderful time of the year….

YAY!!!!!!!!

I'm excited and happy 🙂

For those who don't know what College Night is, here's a quick link for you:
http://www.montevallo.edu/news/events/CollegeNight

For reference, I'm a Gold. This will be my third year as a Gold.

For the past two years, I have been a member of the cast chorus (aka: extra), and both years played an old lady. The first year, I had sprained my ankle (BEFORE rehersals started.. in fact, it was the day of the read-thru, and I sprained it in a parking lot.. loose rocks, ya know? :)) so the old lady had a cane (character only). Made it interesting when the choreographer was trying to figure out something for me to do 🙂 By the way, this play was set in 1984, near Talladega, Alabama. My character (since I had the old person make up on, I stayed the same person throughout the whole play) was a church member, and mother to the leading man's girlfriend (we had to figure out why I would be at a skating rink… lol.. I wasn't skating… the 'rink' were the aisles, circling the center section of the seats in the auditorium… up the hill, acroos, down teh hill, across, and again. Also, what helped when I thought of 'who' I was (this was decided a day or two before the show debuted… and only 3 people knew the relations… me, the girlfriend character, and the girlfriend's father (also the sheriff.. and an older man).

The second year, the play was set in 1926. Yes, Chicago debuted in theatres during rehersals. Not many wanted to see it at all because they LIVED 1926 since the 2nd week of January. I was a random old lady, really. I didn't find out til the FIRST show that I was playing an old lady.. I was going to makeup, and they told me that I had to get the assisstant director to do my makeup, because I was playing an old woman.

Screeeeech! Halt! Ok, earlier I had been asked by the director if I wanted to play age. I told her I'd rather not, and she said we needed a mix of people. I guess she won. But, um.. my costume was like an old lady TRYING to fit in with the younger crowd.. lol.. I had heels, a clouche hat, long dress, but split up the side. Sweater (lol.. hey, it was NYC! 😉 ) and a jacket.

This year, I'm hoping to either be in the show as a different type person (not age.. or if age, not a blah char.. lol.. I know, choosers can't be pickers, or whatever.. lol.) ANYWAYS!

It's alot of fun, and if anyone feels like seeing two original theatrical shows, let me know, and I'll let you know about tickets & directions 🙂

Leave a comment